It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:38 pm

laws of the game 
Primary Schools Player

Post laws of the game
I must be forgiven but I haven't read the law book for some time. In a former life I was a grade 1 referee. I retired hurt in the 80's.
When I was refereeing, if a scrum or lineout was called 30 seconds before half or full time and then became unplayable, if time was up the whistle would be blown to end the half. Is it law for the scrum/lineout to continue?
Is it now permissible to feed the ball into the second row of a scrum, and to be yards in front of the kick off? Those two were tongue in cheek questions.
The other serious question is:- When a knock on occurs and the referee plays advantage, and then a penalty incident happens, why does the referee give a penalty and not go back to the original offence the knock on as always used to be the case?
In other words do the referees now referee to please the crowd not the letter of the law.

Mon Nov 07, 2016 4:42 pm
Profile E-mail
World XV Player

Post Re: laws of the game
MULER wrote:
The other serious question is:- When a knock on occurs and the referee plays advantage, and then a penalty incident happens, why does the referee give a penalty and not go back to the original offence the knock on as always used to be the case?
In other words do the referees now referee to please the crowd not the letter of the law.

Because the team playing their advantage had their opportunity denied by a penalty defence.
IE the ball was in play under continuous circumtances of 'advantage' until called 'over'

That circumstance also allows for the prevention of the defence taking their opportunity whilst the ball is still in play under the declared advantage and would revert to the scrum?

Mon Nov 07, 2016 6:02 pm
World XV Player

MULER wrote:
I must be forgiven but I haven't read the law book for some time. In a former life I was a grade 1 referee. I retired hurt in the 80's.